Neuromarketing Science & Business Association (NMSBA)


The Neuromarketing Hub

The Neuromarketing Science & Business Association (NMSBA) is established on the 2nd of February 2012. The objective of the NMSBA is to educate, provide (science based) resources and build international connections, all around the topic of neuromarketing. It welcomes members from science, business and the neuromarketing industry.


The NMSBA is at this moment owned by NMSBA Events BV, a private company headed by Carla Nagel. The NMSBA is working to become a not-for-profit association. The advisory board of the NMSBA agreed in August 2014 on the following foundation documents and bylaws and the organization. The organization obliges itself to follow the described regulations and procedures. 
The NMSBA will be officially launched once the membership fees are covering the expenses for running the association. Until then, the executive team reports on the financial status to the advisory board. Both, executive team and advisory board cooperate to grow the number of members around the globe.


The advisory board is composed of 5 members, representing neuromarketing science and neuromarketing business. For the term Feb 2015-Feb 2018 the advisory board consists of:

  • Andy Smith (pres)
  • Steve Genco
  • Rafal Ohme
  • Ale Smidts
  • - Vacant -

More on the Advisory Board

Earlier Boards

NMSBA Board 2012-2015

The advisory board of 2012-2015 consisted of:

  • Richard Silberstein (pres)
  • Gemma Calvert
  • Christophe Morin
  • Martin de Munnik
  • Rafal Ohme

The NMSBA has members in more than 90 countries and local representatives in 34 countries. Local chairs are elected for a term of 3 years. Next elections for non-represented countries will be organized in January 2017. 


In 2011 Carla Nagel, got introduced to the world of neuromarketing. As a hands on person with a passion for organizing, she was fascinated by the fact that this interesting and promising field of study was not 'organized' yet. She founded and funded the association from the very beginning and during the next three years she formed the association as it is today.

The executive team and staff of the association consists of people that do have a passion for organizing, but do not have a commercial interest in the field of neuromarketing. It is their task to promote neuromarketing, organize events, publish the quarterly 'Neuromarketing Theory & Practice' and the yearbook and run the association in general.

Executive Team:
Carla Nagel, Executive Director
Jeroen Imming, Finance Director
Sara Hoeflaken, Sponsoring and Exhibition Coordinator

Femke van Zandvoort, Project and Membership Coordinator
Simone Oude Luttikhuis, Marketing Coordinator
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software